A frustrating to long dry, to short yellowing

Hi guys, im pretty new to roasting and trying my best to achive some sort of light fruity roast… and rn getting the feeling of banging my head against the wall over and over again. Color is fine when done, but very little fruityness.

Im having trouble keeping the dry less than 50% and when I push the temps I create to much momentum into yellowing and it speeds through it. Can someone that actually knows what they’re doing (obv unlike me :sweat_smile:) please shine some light on this?

Bean → Don Senel Micromill Obata Honey - Ally Coffee

2 Likes

Just my 2 cents as I noticed you roast a small 250g batch - when I started roasting on the Bullet 2 yrs ago I was roasting 300-350g batches. That said, I noticed you marked Yellow at 357F on that roast above (I went to RoastWorld to find the roast above) - which is higher than when I mark my end of Yellow phase. I mark around 333-335F - that usually gives me a yellow/drying phase of between 40-45% depending on bean and total roast time (and batch size). I also start at a lower PH than you for small batch sizes, either 392, 401 or 410F and let it do about 1 min (to turning point) of heat soaking at P6 or P7 before bumping to P8. These days I roast a full 1kg batch. I have found batches between 1lb up to 1 kg are easier to work with than the small 300g batches. The small batches will run faster esp with higher PH.

Since you also said you wanted a lighter roast, I would definitely start with lowering your PH temp first before anything else. Not sure if @bradm is around, but he has it down with roasting to get the fruit to shine - he might have some advice for you (I learned a lot from him). These days I tend to roast to almost SC as I’m going for that more chocolate profile (because my friends want medium dark since they add milk or make espresso drinks).

Happy Roasting

2 Likes