Bean Behavior

I am relatively new to roasting and have been rolling through mostly Uganda Bugisu beans as I learn the nuances of the Bullet. I have had some really good results, but I find myself a little overwhelmed when I hear others speaking about different beans and how they behave throughout a roast. Is there a good resource to use when approaching a new bean? I understand that there are certain things I can measure on my own, such as density, moisture, and size, but I’m looking for a book or reference source for overall known behaviors. I hope this makes sense, and thank you in advance!

Welcome! There’s certainly a lot of material (and conflicting opinion) on roasting so it’s a nigh impossible task to make sense of all of it at once.

A lot of users here have good things to say about the approach CoffeeMind (Morten Munchow and friends) advocate for learning the capabilities of a roaster, and then using that roaster effectively.

The reason is that they use scientific techniques that rely on trained taster perception, which has shown that a lot of conventional wisdom about roasting has very little effect on cup quality.

They have also done a lot of roasting on the Bullet, making a lot of what they’ve found immediately applicable to other Bullet owners.

You may still be able to access their promo class using the code from the Aillio newsletter at: Aillio News: Taking you to Roasting School.

Do the class first. You don’t necessarily need to buy 10kg of cheap coffee to do the full power roaster characterization; you can read some about others’ exploits in that area in this (long) thread: 900g Full Flame test - #42 by krame