Beginner roaster struggling with Ethiopia Dry Process profile

Hello all! I’m a beginner at roasting and have just recently acquired a Bullet as an upgrade from a Behmor. I have tried 6 slightly different profiles on an Ethiopia Dry Process Hambela Dabaye, but I have consistently produced coffee that is just plain disgusting. By that, I mean exhibiting a very astringent taste (not sour), which gets worse on the finish. I know the coffee is not under-extracted, as I can use the exact same pour-over methodology with a professional roast and create a beautiful cup. Am I still under developing these beans?

I’m trying to follow the Scott Rao guidance of sufficiently high initial energy followed by an ever-declining RoR and a DTR of 20-25%. I’ve provided my best profile by these standards that I’ve achieved so far. Any suggestions or advice are much appreciated!

4 Likes

That’s a nice curve, you seem to have great control over the roaster! I think its possible the beans are underdeveloped. Are you aiming for a light roast or something darker? What was the charge weight?

I usually do medium to almost-dark roasts, and my temperature curves are a few °C higher than yours across the board. I’ll often drop the beans at 215…220°C IBTS.

For example, this 11min, 500g, Mexican washed, medium roast turned out really well, I thought. https://roast.world/@damon/roasts/n6CwSK4jQCBukx_FJbUBY

1 Like

Yes, I was going for a City, maybe City+ roast level. Charge weight was 350g.

Hi, I can only go on to what has worked for me, I would try and reduce the time to yellow and increase the time to first crack, and maybe increase the preheat. Super nice ROR though, none of mine look that good.

8 Likes

My 2 cents worth of advice on your roast

I believe your charge IBTS temperature is too high for a 350 gm roast. It could cause initial scorching on the bean surface.