Coffee Mind eLearning from Aillio

In the last Aillio Newsletter, there was the offer for a free e-learning class from Coffee Mind, taught by Morten Münchow. I eagerly signed up for this class, because even though I have been roasting coffee for over 20 years (as a hobbyist - I am no pro) I am always eager to learn more.

(a quick background - I started roasting on a fluidized bed roaster I bought from Sweet Marias when they were still in Cincinnati, The Fresh Roast, maybe? Can’t quite remember. When that burned out from overuse, I bought an Alpenrost drum roaster. Then a Hottop. Then another Hottop, now the Bullet. I have been roasting pretty much by the seat of my pants, turning green beans brown by sight, scent, and sound. But the Bullet gave me something else. Data)

I listened to all the classes, and took all the quizzes, and learned a completely new way to roast.

When I first got the Bullet, I used the Rao method of always making sure the ROR was dropping, and using 20% dev time to get to the drop.

It was an easy way to manage a roast, and it always came out pretty good.

Listening to Morten, and then looking at his charts (He used Principle Components Analysis! WOW! Real Triangular Tests! SCIENCE!) I realized there was so much I did not know about turning those green beans brown.

So now I am two roasts into the Morten Method, lets call it. VERY programmatic, I would say quantitative, not qualitative (you can find my recipes over on RoasTime), and quite a bit longer and slower than I am used to.

The verdict? Still out. The first I tried really was fantastic, but I have a new grinder, so that may be part of the results. I will roast for another several pounds and see what I conclude. But watching time and power verses ROR and Dev% makes for a different experience.

I’ll be curious if anyone else is heading down this path.

But a big “Thank You” to Aillio for making me look at things a little differently.

d

12 Likes