Deep Clean Affecting Proven Recipes?

I’ve developed some tried and true recipes for myself and friends. After finishing my last roast session I knew it was time for a cleaning. So, I just recently did a VERY deep clean of my roaster and now the weirdest thing is happening to all those dialed in recipes. Almost all of my recipes are now delayed by 1-2min. What I mean by that is most every 775g recipe I would roast would finish about the 11min mark give or take 45s-1m without ever getting into a position to stall out. Ever since that cleaning the roast times have been extended to 13+ min and I’ve had to manually adjust F and P settings toward the end of the roasts to avoid stalls.

What the heck happened?!

Here’s an example of a natural ethiopian light roast I have been roasting for the last 4-5 months.

Can’t comment except to speculate that the cleaning may have increased volumetric air flow via the exhaust fan. That will remove some small additional amount of heat which will then require longer to reach target temps compared to pre-cleaning. My own experience with cleaning hasn’t produced that large an effect but then I use lower fan speeds (F2, F3).

Bruce

Very deep clean should mean the temperature sensors too, right? If that is so, once the IBTS gets dirty, it will signal a lower than actual temperature, at least from my experience. Hence, the faster roasts. By the way, that was my experience on all temperature probes and sensors. So, from my point of view, it’s perfectly normal. What you can do is maintain the level of clean and recreate the recipe with the correct temperature values. It’s easier this way, as you can react and clean as soon as you see differences. Maintaining the same level of dirty would prove more difficult.

1 Like

Just out of curiosity, how deep is VERY deep? You did not touch the drum, did you?

Correct. What you’re saying makes sense , I think, but why would a lower than actual temperature produce a faster roast?