Development Time Ratio (DTR) Question

New Bullet roaster here (V2). I’ve discovered from reading the forum that Rao commandment about always declining RoR does not necessarily apply to the bullet to obtain good results. I have seen less information/thoughts/opinions about the development time ratio commandment. When I used the light roast recipe from Aillio for 500 g my roast curve looked very much like a Rao curve. Declining RoR and DTR between 20-25%. Now I’m trying to do a medium/city+ roast (IBTS probe 216-218 degC) and I’m having trouble getting the DTR sub 25%. Do the more experienced roasters here think that it’s important to prevent baking the beans, or does it not apply to the bullet?

I’d also appreciate if anyone has a good medium roast recipe/curve for 500g on a V2 machine to chime in so I can stalk your roasts. I’ve tried looking on the community for roasts, but there are way too many variables and not enough filtering abilities in the search.

2 Likes

As a newbie myself, and having read Rao’s take on DTR, I have now realized that roast level can be based on DTR, delta temperature as well as weight loss percentage. However, any/all of these can be affected by the ror at FC as well as the moisture content of the greens among other factors. So, over the many roasts I have done on the Bullet so far, I am roasting much better coffee now but am yet to hone on a silver bullet for reaching an ideal roast level indicator.

Going by DTR alone does not appear like a foolproof way to measure roast level. I have done 32% DTR and not reached SC due to a low ror at FC and likewise, I have reached SC at less than 30% DTR with a high ror at FC. Going by DTR alone the former was safely in the dark realm which it was actually not while the latter was much darker than medium dark (as per the DTR).

1 Like