Do you have a plan in the event of a "Roaster Fire"?

Just as an opening thought, this topic is aimed at raising safety awareness (especially for people who are totally new to coffee roasting). For the old-timers, your experiences as coffee roasters and Aillio’s thoughts are most welcome in this thread.

This is a topic that is sometimes not discussed with home roaster equipment in user forums. It is a well known safety requirement with commercial coffee roasters and those in that biz. Even for “home-roasters”, it is important that you know what you will do in the event of a roaster fire. Many of us roast indoors in our homes, basements, garages, out-buildings, etc. The old adage “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure” comes to mind here.

If you think it is unlikely that you could have a fire in your roaster consider what happened to me many years ago (when I was a newbie). Basically, I had a roaster fire in a 1/2lb Drum Coffee Roaster and had not known that roasted coffee would burn (very well). Imagine roasting as normal, reaching the end of the roast when bean temps are at their highest and suddenly you lose power. Power outages are something that we don’t control from the power company. There is also the possibility of an electronic failure in our roaster that stops the operation and sets up the same scenario.