Does first crack matter?

I’m new to the Bullet. Prior to this, I roasted for 10+ years using an RK Drum on a gas grill. Relative to the Bullet, that approach was pretty limiting but I could always hear first crack. Between D9, my vent fan and the build of the Bullet, I have difficulty hearing the very beginning of 1C. I’ve seen some of the workarounds people are using. A few months ago, I saw a Tim Wendelboe video where he discussed the ambiguity of “yellowing” and the difficulty of hearing first crack on his roaster (a Loring, I think). His solution was to always mark yellowing at something like 165C and always mark 1C at 200C. If you manage your profiles to those two data points, is there any real downside?

1 Like

Do some searches here on R.W. There are a few discussions about the problem of hearing 1Cs. I tilt the bean chute cover for brief intervals but take care to not burn your ear!

Using a fixed temperature is do-able but can vary with the beans/processing/moisture content. And you’ll need a very repeatable way to approach 1Cs- probably using a Recipe. Maybe make the effort to hear 1Cs with each new lot, then use that info for subsequent roasts… ?? Dunno. Not convinced but I understand the issue/frustration. The problem is if you go to an alternate you will have stopped trying. There may be a solution out there that works for you. I encourage you to keep trying for awhile.

Btw, hearing loss is a common problem and does get in the way of hearing 1Cs & 2Cs. About 5 years ago I had my hearing tested at COSTCO ($0) and learned I had enough loss to warrant hearing aids. My wife was sick of repeating herself so she was a happy camper! And COSTCO’s price for hearing aids was affordable. Turned out to be a good move as the hearing aids restored ‘normal’ hearing and now I can pick out the crack fairly well. After the 4th year COSTCO re-programmed the hearing aids to adjust for additional losses in my hearing ($0 for 5 yrs after purchase).