Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Kebele Gotiti Roast

Hello All!

Looking for some feedback from everyone here. I am VERY new to roasting on the R1 and wanted to get some feedback from the people here to help point me in the right direction of where I can improve! I just completed a roast of Washed Ethiopia Heirlooms from Yirgacheffe, that came out a bit ‘flat’ and not very floral…very slight undertone of vegetables rather than the sweet jasmine and citrus like I was expecting. Would really appreciate some pointers based on my roast profile as to where I should focus on to improve the roast. Charged 350g at 230deg C and tried to manage a decreasing RoR with a power reduction and fan speed increase. Also, is it normal for such a large spread between IBTS and Bean Probe temps? Thanks all, really appreciate it!

2 Likes

Welcome Luke,

First time trying to help out. Looks like your FC may be a bit early, don’t usually see it until around ~200C give or take a few, so based on the numbers I’m not sure you quite got there. While the roast has a very smooth ROR decline, looks like it may have stalled out a bit at the end with the decline on the ITBS curve. I’m sure others will jump in and give much better advice but that is what I am seeing.

Your ROR looks great. Your ratios look good.
That being said, I wouldn’t let those control my roast. Shortly after FC the IBTS climbs to ~195 and then starts to decline and you drop at 192.9
I think that you are probably underroasting this bean for the results that you are wanting hence the vegtable tastes.

I typically roast Ethiopian beans to 205 - 210 and then let it rest for a few days before cupping.

I roasted this bean in February and dropped at 209.5 In my notes, I noted to drop at 205 next time to try to bring out the florals more.

Please take anything I say with caution. I am not an expert. these are just my observations.

1 Like