Fan speed settings

Greetings weird coffee people!

I’m new to roasting on the Bullet having roasted on a Loring S15 for five months. Anyhoo I’m finding each incremental adjustment to the fan setting has a fairly significant impact on the RoR trend. I’ve had quite a few RoR crashes due to increasing F2 to F3. I’ve had a look at a number of user roast profiles now and see that most people only use F2 and F3 and are using F3 later in the roast. I’m curious on other users view on fan speed and maybe some examples of when and why they might increase (or decrease) fan speed instead of altering the power level? Also what do people think about a slower graduation of fan speed (rpm) in relation to the fan speed setting (Fx) so that the rpm increase is a smaller across the lower fan speed settings? I think this would give us extra flexibility in fine tuning our roast profiles. It seems to me any fan setting above F4 is almost unused in most roast profiles I’ve seen. Feedback and opinions appreciated!

-David

1 Like

Hey David -

F2-F3 has worked well for me with small 325g batches roasted on the lighter side, up to near SC. I tried constant F4 for a while, with correspondingly higher power to compensate for increased cooling, and found it easier to achieve a smooth declining RoR but the flavors in the cup were flatter. When to switch to F3 is a good variable to fine tune for each bean.

Lately I’ve been trying to learn how to roast larger 500-600g batches, which some say should be nearer to the “sweet spot” for our machines. I’m not sure if F2-F3 applies as well to these larger batches, eager to hear other’s experience.