First roast, drum temp not increasing?

Hi, first 2 roasts done (350 g Nicaragua) on my R1V1 bought second hand.

Quite an upgrade from the Behmor 1600 :^)

The coffee might come out quite well (no charcoal).
But I’m little confused on the drum temp (white) that has a slight decrease during the roast. Not following the Bean temp as see in most of the profiles?

PS I will upgrade to the IBTS when in stock again. I guess it’s easier to compare with curves from newer roasters DS

I have no experience with the V1 Bullet so feel free to ignore this-

The IR profile is similar to what I think I’ve seen from other V1 Bullets. What seems to be different is maybe an offset, i.e. the curve shape is typical but maybe a little lower than normal. It may be that the protective window over the sensor needs cleaning.

As I recall there are warnings that go with cleaning the V1 sensor window so I checked the Aillio Support page but didn’t see anything about the V1 IR sensor. But I did find was an early manual (2018) that had a link to a document saved on docs.google.com about cleaning the V1 IR sensor. Cleaning is basically the same as the IBTS (cotton swab + alcohol) except it’s easier to reach. I have no idea if this will change your roast profile but… ??

Btw, if IBTS is any indication, a swab with alcohol coming away clean from the sensor is not necessarily an indication the window is actually clean. It seems whatever contaminates the sensor cover isn’t readily visible. So try cleaning it a few times even though the swab comes away with no indication of contaminants. Again, this is from someone that is cleaning an IBTS and not a V1 IR sensor window, so consider the source!

Bruce

Thanks, Bruce. The IR-cleaning also popped up in my mind. Will check it :^)

I suspect your low coffee volume, high drum speed, and low power settings might be a part of the issue.