First roast - Help appreciated

Hello, been lurking here for the past few weeks trying to pick up some tips. This is my first time roasting after 3 seasoning roasts. I’d appreciate any form of feedback. I had trouble hearing first crack. I thought I heard cracking early on in the 7th minute of roast. I marked it towards end of 7th minute. Will cup sometime tomorrow or day after.

Ethiopian Washed - Nensebo Refisa
350g green weight, 310.1g roasted weight
Aiming for a light roast

My questions:
2. Is my drop temperature at 195.5 C concerning? I was expecting FC at 200.
3. Marking yellow is so subjective. I ended up doing so around the 165 C point. I have a feeling I hit that temp a little too soon in roast?
4. Can you help provide any constructive feedback (or you can roast my roast…)? Appreciate any advice or changes I can make for my second roast.

Images - first one is me cracking a seed open. Seemed consistent throughout?
Second one is of overall roast.

1 Like

First off, welcome to the community! On to your roast – that’s a pretty nice first profile. It’s always hard to tell roast levels just from a photo, but those look like a nice light roast, which is what you were aiming for, and 11% wl is about right. On to your questions:

1. a deviation of 5°C isn’t abnormal – where did you get your expected FC temp? I get mine from a test roast (or two) that is my benchmark for milestones. A washed bean should have pretty distinct first crack, so you’re probably right there.

2. I agree that yellowing is subjective. My subjective call there is even earlier, but I’m not a professional. As long as you’re consistent between roasts, that’s the main factor.