Looking for feedback on roasts after a week of learning

Spent this past week roasting up quite a few batches and trying to really get a feel for the settings and what’s happening. I’ve been trying to stick to everything I’ve read about the slowly decreasing RoR, but I’m not quite sure if that’s the correct thing to do or not. Coffee so far has been very good, very sweet and chocolaty, but maybe a little less bright as compared to my FreshRoast SR800.

Natural from yesterday:

South American blend from yesterday for a dark roast going through a Keurig:

1 Like

Here is my 2 cents
Try to lower the power before FC, maybe 198C to P4
Try to lower the power again after FC around 200C t0 P3

1 Like

Thank you. I’m thinking I need to rely more on power adjustments and less on fan settings. Which is the opposite from the FreshRoast.

Hi Vincent,

I am not an expert but I like your curve very much. One thing I have noticed also in your profile that the yellow point was a bit earlier than mine. I like to identify the dry-out point as a key milestone. Using the color maybe too relative. By carefully watching the B-RoR curve and notice a small bump around 175.7C which I have pointed out in your profile above is where I believe the dry-out point. When at this point, the H2O left in the beans should be 1~2% and most of the beans becoming exothermal reaction.

That’s very interesting, as I’ve been struggling to get the yellowing shorter in hopeful attempts for slightly brighter coffee. If it really is starting much later that would simply the variables I’m currently trying to juggle in my head.

Can you confirm my understanding, as I’m having a hard time comprehending: because the B-ROR shifts upwards you’re saying the coffee is now becoming exothermic and that’s the true yellowing point?

Hi Vincent,
Yellowing …to me is a color. So one’s color can be different than the other person. So I usually try not to use color to decide.