Newb needs some help - roast taking a long time and not hitting FC

Hi

I’m new to the Bullet but I’ve been roasting for several years on a Huky and homemade air roaster. I’ve tried the beginner’s receipe with 350g of Brazilian beans and both times, the roast has gone on for a long time and not hit FC. The roast tastes like charcoal!

By B-ROR looks so-so, but somehow the IBTS temp is not going high enough I think. I preheated to 220C and kept it there for 20 min.
I’m expecting FC at 209C but it’s taking forever to get there and when it does the roast has stalled out already.

Any advice?

1 Like

I’m no pro but try sticking to P7 and F2 until you hit yellow(or thereabouts).
Make changes to Power and Fan after…

People say the Bullet is different from gas roasters so there is a learning curve even for experienced roasters.

Hope it helps, cheers!

Looks like you prob hit 1C at about 9 min into the roast… should happen in the range of 190-200°C. If I’m right you’re likely having trouble hearing the sound of 1C- it’s masked by the noise of the beans crashing around in the drum. It’s a very common issue for nearly all of us.

A couple solutions to try-

• tilt the rubber plug on the bean chute for a couple seconds at a time. The idea is to get it at an angle to reflect sounds toward your ear. Be very careful to not bump your ear against the Bullet- it’s hot and you’ll end up branded!
  • some have adapted a mechanics stethoscope so they can listen via the tryer port. Make up an adapter of appropriate size metal tube (copper plumbing from the plumbing section of Home Depot) to fit the tryer port with a silicone hose attached and the stethoscope fitted to the hose. To use it you would temporarily remove the tryer, insert the short metal tube (too long and you’ll hit the drum) and listen with what is now a ‘coffee roaster’s stethoscope’. It’s a bit of a workaround but it may offer what you need. Search here on R.W- others have already blazed the trail.