Poor support for scoring/rating

Hi – though I’ve had a Bullet for 3 years, I’m new to RT2, having only updated recently while replacing/upgrading lots of components. I’m disappointed with how roast scores/ratings is handled in the “new” software. I found this a very important feature once I racked up a lot of roasts, so I could hone in on the best profiles when starting with a new bean. I can’t figure out how to do this in the new SW.

It looks like there’s no way to display the score/rating in the Roast History, or any way to filter on Rating. It seems like rating is completely overlooked, since when I go to Roast.World to look up a bean to see what other people are doing, every roast seems to have a score of 0. So I have no way of knowing at a glance whether their roasts are successful.

Are there any plans to make this feature more useable? It’s pretty important to me. Thanks.

1 Like

I never bothered with rating so mine were always zero as I suspect many others did. I still believe RoasTime should allow the choice of a profile roast being public or private. If I take a photo on my iPhone it isn’t automatically available to view by anybody…

1 Like

+1 on the public/private point.

As far as not rating them — how do you keep track? After 3 years of roasting on the Bullet I had over 300 roasts logged. Good ratings helped me pick profiles for new beans, bad ratings helped me remember farms and lots I didn’t like in the past. If they all had 0 I’d have been lost.

Like Stuart said, most people don’t use the rating feature. It’s an arbitrary number anyway. Unless you’re a Q Grader the numbers are probably not very consistent across the rating spectrum if you’re trying to look at other people’s roasts.

Wow, I’d never noticed the Rating. I would also consider it valuable as a personal ranking for sorting through my own beans. But it doesn’t seem to be available in RoastTime (?), only on Roast.World.