Recommended book(s)?

My wife and I have been roasting our own coffee for about 10 years now. (Normally for espresso or americanos, occasionally French press or clever coffee dripper).

We just got a Bullet after years of using a Hottop after our starter FreshRoast machine. After dialing in our Hottop we have been in a rut since the early teens, and I thought it might be nice to take the opportunity of the new machine to also up our roasting game.

What books do people recommend for people who already know the basics of roasting and want to increase their knowledge and improve their techniques. I think we have an extremely elementary home roasting book that must be about 20 years old now somewhere, but in practice most of what we know came from Sweet Marias and forums from early last decade.

Thanks!

Three authors come to mind- Google for Scott Rao (popular here) or Ken Davids or Robert (?) Hoos. All are readable. Hoos has given one or more classes with a Bullet- a few months ago there was some interest here for a video of that class. I haven’t seen that video but you should find reference to it here as well as a link. And Sweet Maria’s has a few videos on operation as well as maintenance.

Thompson Owen’s material on roasting is really good and sufficiently general to be applicable… don’t minimize what you learned there. And of course anybody with a journalism degree that has drunk a cup of coffee has probably done at least one free lance article on roasting. I suspect there are a couple gems out there.

Bruce

2 Likes

Welcome Brian!

Rao’s Coffee Roasting Best Practices is pretty essential if you decide to subscribe to his philosophy of the linearly decreasing RoR. Not everyone agrees, but it has worked well on the bullet for me at least for light-medium roasts. The book is aimed at larger commercial roasters but plenty valuable for us too.