Roast Feedback

Hey all - I’m coming from a behmor and still adjusting. I did this roast and was expecting some bright notes from it but I somewhat feel as though it’s giving me a bit of a bitter aftertaste and my friend noticed some burnt types of notes. Not the goal here OFC but what are your thoughts on how I did? On paper it seems to be fairly solid, no?

I have no experience with these greens so I can’t really comment directly. Just looking at the drop temp it appears 1C may not have finished. But that may be your plan… ?? For my roasts I expect 1Cs (start) at about IBTS = 204°C-206°C and 1Ce (end) at about IBTS = 218°C-219°C (a range on the order of 14C° from start to finish). I roast pretty dark so I may have the wrong end of the stick here!

Bruce

Agree with Bruce, your FC seems a bit too early. My experience, the FC happens around IBTS 201°C~208°C

The FC temp chosen may also be influenced by whether marking at the first pop or waiting for the “chorus,” which IIRC is what you do, Bruce, I get FC at 200C to 204C on most of my roasts.

I don’t roast or drink Kenya very often so have not developed any expertise, but here is a profile that has been drinking nicely since I roasted it 2 weeks ago.

2 Likes

Nice curve, and looks like increasing the fan speed up to f4 around 195°(IBTS) before hitting the FC is the key to avoid RoR flick during development phase and bring great taste of the roast.