Roast profiles look terrible and coffee tastes bad; help!

I have been roasting Ethiopian beans, usually 500g, and my roasts always start out fine then typically spike in temp instead of any reasonable steady ROR…any general recommendations for what’s going wrong in my profiles? I have tried following similar profiles of roasts posted and can’t even get close. sometimes I nail it and the coffee tastes amazing but 8/10 roasts are just baked and very bland. Will post two sample roasts that did not taste good at all.

These beans are Yirg Halo Bariti; I am roasting on a balcony in Arizona at night

Hi -
I’m far from an expert, but just my two cents on something you could try. I’d shoot for a few more power reductions throughout the roast to keep the RoR declining. Depending on how these beans respond, might need a decent power cut prior to FC to avoid that spike. Some current yirg’s I’m roasting have a very violent FC so need to cut the power to P3 at around 194 to avoid a nasty flick. You profiles seem to be indicative of too much mid roast heat that flattens them out…

Ive played around with 350g roasts of some Yirgacheffe beans and found the following to yield some pretty decent results.
Preheat: 225c
Start at P7 & F2
At Yellowing (IBTS ~ 165-ish, I shoot for 4:15-4:30) P6 & F3
At 185, P5
At 191, F4
At 193, P4
At 198, F3 and P5 to avoid stalling the roast and baking it.
I develop for maybe 1:45 and drop them at 203-ish to keep the soft acidity (personal preference)

Again, I’m far from any level of expert, but might be worthwhile playing with the above milestones and fine tune the profile from there. Hope this helps
Best of luck!!!

1 Like

Feel free to take at my profiles on RW. I do 500g and 1kg roasts. My 500g roasts I start with a PH of around 410F (210C) and I go for an extended drying phase (timewise). I haven’t had complaints about my roasts done this way and I tend to go into the “medium dark” (i.e. EV 14-15 range).