Roastime 3 auto update problems

Anyone else having problems with auto updates getting flagged and quarantined by protection software? This has been an ongoing issue for me. After the file gets blocked and flagged as malicious I can’t seem to do anything to load and run Roastime again short of resetting Windows. I have had to reset Windows three times now. Running my computer without virus protection is not an option.

Is there any way to turn the auto updates off? I would be happy to update the software manually if that would resolve the issue.

1 Like

Opt-in updates would be great!

It’s just a friendly request. I appreciate all the free improvements, and I understand there will be occasional regressions. As a software developer myself, I get it. It’s complicated to keep hardware, firmware, app, database and website synchronized. Even more so when there are multiple versions of hardware/firmware/app/website to consider. The company I work for has the same challenges.

So it’s from a place of sympathy that I ask for the ability to choose when to upgrade. Something like “Warning: You are using an older version of RoastTime, some features may not function correctly: [upgrade now] [live dangerously]”

You understand the challenges of supporting a wide spread of software versions, I’m sure there are still some RT v1 users skulking in the corners. I think this is what the developers are trying to address. Apparently most iOS users are pretty up to date in their version but that’s probably Apples success in persuading folks to update.

One suggestion I have made is that not every release is considered in the “stable” branch. Maybe major decimal, 3.1,3.2 etc and others are “beta” that you can opt into like firmware. As @jacob has previously said, not every user or every test will catch everything, it’s just the nature of the beast.

Other software exists, Artisan, but shock horror, they have bugs too, especially when new features hit. Check their GitHub if you doubt…