Roasting Decaffeinated Guatemala SHB Swiss Water

Hii everyone, I’m struggling trying that this decaffeinated Guatemala Primavera SHB Swiss Water doesn’t have a tomato flavor !!

Can someone give me some advice? I have tried these 3 profiles but they all turn out the same, I try a light / medium roast.

Taste like tomato soup…

Also, I think these grains started to break when I was with D9, has it happened to someone else?

Ok so this may be nonsense for decaf, with which I have no experience at all, but for what it’s worth…

Tomato soup flavors sound to me like the beans could be under developed and/or under roasted. All of the roasts have a pretty low drop temperature around 206C, and pretty low weight loss in the 12% range. Those values might work for some beans, but tomato soup sounds like they don’t work for this bean.

TC108 looks like the best curve to start fine tuning. The first half of the roast looks reasonable, but the RoR went flat around 6:00 to 7:00. How about extending the P8 interval to gain a little more momentum, then eliminate the last fan increase and stick with F6, and shoot for a drop temperature closer to 210C with maybe mid-13% weight loss? You’ll probably need a little more time post-FC to achieve this, so you’ll get a little more development.

Please let us know what you end up trying next, and how it works!

2 Likes

I will try today, thanks for your answer !!!

It is the first time that I roast decaf, I think it lacks development but I think that the bean is very close to the second crack, because some beans are already a bit oily, even that the temperature shows underdevelopment, also after reading, I’m extremely careful to don’t burn the beans.