RT4 Usability issues with PRS and Power, Fan, Drum changes

My day job is in quality improvement in healthcare, mostly from a user-interface, human factors engineering perspective. There, bad interfaces injure and kill patients with the blame often incorrectly falling to the device user (look up device use errors in healthcare).

Channeling my human factors expertise to RT4 I note two new issues with the latest power, fan, PRS interface:

The most serious issue is the size and location of the PRS button. The PRS button is not a button that you want to accidentally hit, yet in the new interface it is between the - and + buttons: keys that you often need during a roast and that are easily undone if you hit the wrong one or hit one by mistake. It is too easy to hit PRS when you intend to hit +, - or Fan (above PRS).

Second, the new interface for power fan and drum changes adds extra (and unnecessary) cognitive complexity and steps. To make a change you have to tap Power, Fan, or Dum (or check to see if it is already selected), then press - or +. This adds a cognitive step and possibly and extra keypress. Having the same - and + keys for all three is an example of functional overloading, something the Bullet front panel suffers from even more, leading to things like the Sweet Maria’s cheat sheet–a sheet that should not be necessary with proper user interface design.

I believe that the new design might be a response to a complaint that the old -/+ buttons were too small, but that old design (with separate controls) is still preferable to the new one.

8 Likes

Oh wow… thanks for sharing this @toddjohnson. Because I haven’t been roasting in a while therefore not using the latest version of RT, that screen shot above has me concerned too. To use RT to change P/F/D now takes 2 clicks at minimum? And my twitchy fingers (I mean it) can easily involuntarily hit that PRS right there too if my mouse happens to be hovering there.