Spitting out green beans

I am new to Aillio Bullet roasting and have roasted only 8 times. The last two was with Roast Time and other roasting were by looking at the display.
On the last roasting(8th), for first 2 minutes or so, the Aillio was spitting green beans from the bottom of the door. I tried to find solutions from the manual, however, I could not find any help on this issue. Previous to the 8th roasting was the same beans as the 8th and was Ethiopian Sidamo 350grams.

This is usually related to the spacing at the front of the drum shaft or possibly as simple as adjusting the front plate position slightly higher.

The spacing is set with shim washers of 2 different thicknesses in place at the front of the drum shaft. You should have spares delivered with your roaster so that you can change a thick shim to something thinner or even remove a thin washer. The adjustment increments need to be very small. Adjust and try. Your roaster will let you know if you get the spacing wrong by letting you hear an awful scraping noise!

Bruce

1 Like

Thank you Bruce…
Yes, I found an extra washer in the tool bag… So if I changed those already installed 2 washers to somewhat thinner continuations the dram would move slightly forward and the space between the door and the dram would became narrower …. Am I right? I didn’t do anything to the roaster before the last roasting, so I think by roasting 7 times before the spitting happened, the dram was settled and the gap became wider…I would try adjusting it tomorrow. Thank you again.

There’s a chance the heating of the drum slightly lengthened the drum shaft. The clearances are very small.

The on line manual (Aillio.com) or the Support tab there will have info on adjusting. The clearances are very tight and controlled only by the washers (shims) and slight changes in the position of the face plate on the front of the roaster. The latter can have a significant effect.

Bruce