Struggling with Washed Heirlooms

Hello Everyone!
Didnt want to plague this forum with my struggles, but need the expertise of the talented folks here to help ease my frustrations with some washed Heirlooms I have from Yirgacheffe. 15 roasts in with these beans and I can’t quite seem to get it right (also, yep, im a total novice still finding my feet with the Bullet and roasting in general). My latest attempt (chart below) was the closest ive come to a successful roast, but would truly appreciate the thoughts from this community of where I should focus some changes to Power and Fan based on the wealth of knowledge and experience that exists here. These beans seem to hit FC at around 195 IBTS…any feedback on my drying / maillard ratios, power / fan settings at key milestones, along with anything else weird you see in my profile will be truly appreciated.
I learn so much from you all, so goes without saying im very grateful for any and all help!

Hey Luke,

How does it taste? The graph looks good from my limited experience. Think it’s helpful to know what didn’t work out right to make suggestions. That is, does the coffee taste underdeveloped, doesn’t have the notes you were looking for, too acidic, caught fire during the 5th minute of second crack, ect.

Best,

Kyle

1 Like

Seems to me, Yirgacheffe-Washed normally hits FC @ 200c IBTS…If that is correct (at least 2 to 3 pops at a time) your final IBTS @198c is way too low.
Try to use IBTS 200c as the FC and drop the beans after 1 ~ 1’10" (keep the RoR around 5~8c after FC) if you like very light roast. That should give you Agtron of 88~90+, and the weight loss between 11~12.5%

Hope that helps

3 Likes