Trying to get a light roast (help)

Hi, I’m new to roasting but not to coffee, I run a coffee shop and taste many amazing coffees every day and have taken the next step in trying to roast some myself. I have followed the suggested light roast specs from Aillio. I’m trying to roast 2 Ethiopian naturals for pour over, I have roasted a Bensa and Gora from falcon-micro and after cupping them they seemed fairly decent ( was expecting first roast to be horrible ) fairly sweet / fruity smell and tasted okay but in my experience with these beans I feel they are lacking. after a fairly exciting cupping I tried to brew them but the coffee was way nicer in the cup.
should I leave them rest longer before deciding to make some changes? its only been 24 hours.

any suggestions or clear mistakes I have made would really help on the next run.

thanks

3 Likes

Hey @ansomeuko3cf - welcome to the roasting journey! I’m fairly new myself, but in my limited experience, light roasts (especially Ethiopian heirloom) benefit from longer resting times. I’ve had some that peaked in flavor after 7 days. I’d sample it over the next week before drawing too many conclusions. Your profiles look good!

Those look like very reasonable roasts, great first attempts. I agree give them rest, especially light roasts benefit from a week or more.

A couple of ideas to try:

You’re getting pretty high weight loss for a light roast. Try speeding up a bit, see if you can get weight loss down into the high 12% range. I like to start with 1 minute at P7, then increase to P8 for a minute or two before decreasing back down to around P4 at first crack. Hopefully the Ethiopians can take the heat without scorching.