Underdeveloped Roasts

I’m a new Bullet R1 owner, but have been roasting on other machines for about 16 years. I progressed from an air roaster, to a Behmor, to a Gene Cafe, to a HotTop, and now to a Bullet - hoping to take my abilities to the next level. I’m afraid I feel like a complete novice, and haven’t been able to roast a drinkable batch, much less a decent one.

I’ve dug through this forum, read Scott Rao’s Coffee Roaster’s Companion, picked the brain of a professional roaster at a local coffee house, and experimented on my own through 20 different roasts. I’ve tried following the beginner’s roast in the Bullet’s manual, as well as various roast profiles from users on this forum.

Each time (even when I push through to mid-2nd crack), the coffee tastes grassy, underdeveloped, and frankly, terrible.

Has anyone else endured this plight? I’m quite bewildered at this point, almost to the point of trying to return the machine. Any guidance is much appreciated!

Tom

6 Likes

I’m less experienced than you and I’ve just completed seasoning the roaster. But I’ve also noticed from a color standpoint, I’m not able to achieve a dark roast. Perhaps someone can assist us?

Tom, I’ve been roasting for 20 years and been through many different roasters, but mainly focused on Drum-roasting throughout. I can tell you that moving to the Bullet last March was like having to learn how to roast all over again. I believe that the presence of all these new controls (that we have on the Bullet) is partly the reason for it. I was way past the first (20) roasts before I was getting what I considered satisfactory results, so don’t feel alone.