Voltage drop on extension cord

My roasting location requires an extension cord. I have a 25’ unmarked cord (probably 16g).

I’ve recorded the voltage from RoasTime under P1-P9 power settings (F3 and D8 held steady) for both a direct connection and using the 25’ 16g extension cord:

There is a 3V drop from the extension cord. I’m not an electrical engineer (I’m a geologist).
It looks like that socket may already be underperforming its 120V potential.

• I imagine <3% voltage shouldn’t affect my roasts much and I probably won’t upgrade my cord (please let me know if you think otherwise)
  • Also, the voltage did not change while cycling through different Drum Speed and Fan settings without changing Power. Voltage reduction seems to be only influenced by power.

The manual says 'If an extension cord is needed, please make sure it meets the minimum
requirements of power rating" but that seems to fall within the 110-127v range.

At 25’ you’re at risk of too much voltage drop with 16 AWG wire (that’s really small stuff). I think I would choose at least 12 AWG.

Better yet I would suggest rethinking the setup to shorten the length of extension cable needed. Or of all eliminate the cable.

What’s confusing to me is that there is obviously some (fairly long) length of wire running from the circuit panel to the wall outlet. If the extension cord has equal AWG size/rating to the wire running through the wall, what difference does it make? Is there some significant loss in the extra connectors? We don’t get any guidance about selecting an electrical outlet that is within some maximum distance to the circuit panel. Not being critical here at all, just lacking the electrician’s understanding.

1 Like

You need at least a 14ga cord- I use a 12ga which would match the wiring from the panel for a 20A circuit, which is what we should be using.

1 Like