Combination venting and cooling setup

Continuing the discussion from Exhaust hood options:

I’m new to roasting on the Bullet.

This box houses an upcycled cooker hood extractor that clears a hefty 427m³/hr (250cfm). It has an 8" inlet at each side.

I’ve routed the left one via two reducers and some 4" ducting to be the smoke collector, and the right one via one reducer and some 6" ducting to an integrated bean cooler on the right. The bullet’s SS bean tray just sits on top of it, with an airtight-ish seal created by a piece of silicone hose around the edge of the empty chocolates tub … I mean cooling tray!

It all works like a charm. After a smoke-free roast, I managed to cool 600g of beans to be genuinely cold to the touch in 60s.

Sealing one side boosts all of the airflow on the other - hence the chocolate tub … I mean cooling tray - lid on the first pic when I was roasting to increase the airflow at the smoke-collector.

I think the whole thing cost me less than £60. I plan to cover it in matte black vinyl so it matches the bullet.

2 Likes

Pretty cool idea… would be great to see what it looks like inside your box :wink:

2 Likes

I second this motion! Let us take a peek inside!

1 Like

Not so easy to show the inside as it’s all glued together but here’s the best I can manage from the underside. I also added the vinyl covering and I’m very pleased with how it looks now. Just need to paint the white bit on the end of the 4" ducting :crazy_face:. Maybe going a bit OTT for something that lives in my garage!

Uploading: Screenshot_20211219-
170301_Gallery.jpg…

6 Likes

This is pretty cool … to use the intake side to draw air through the beans thereby having a bean cooler.