IBTS Sensor (Taking off mid roast)

I have been roasting on my bullet for a couple of years now and I have been able to get very consistent roasts when doing the similar profiles over that time period. This past week I am noticing that I am having an issue with the IBTS temp has been taking off mid roast I will get crack earlier on my bean probe than I normally will, but the the IBTS sensor will be recording the proper temp for crack to happen at. So while the bean probe is consistent with what I am use to seeing, it seems like something is happening to make the surface of the coffee much hotter than it normally is. Would this be a fan issue or a sensor issue? I am noticing that there is more charring character, though it is slight at the moment, with the past week of roasting. I am wanting to fix this as soon as possible.

Anyone deal with this issue in the past? Would a recalibration of the fan help? Not thinking its a sensor issue as I am noticing a difference in the coffee once done. It feels like it’s just getting hotter in the roaster.

Help!!

I would start with removing the faceplate and looking at/cleaning the IBTS lens and fan. I’ve heard once of someone seeing a tiny bean/fragment that found its way inside and was probably throwing off the sensor. If you’re not getting a startup error then likely the fan IS running but wouldn’t hurt to check in the INFO panel if/when it happens again. You should be looking at 14-15K rpm at least.

Good to know. I will be messing with this a little tonight and really trying to figure this out. Thanks for the feed back.

I looked at a few of your roasts but didn’t see anything of note like a sudden transient in IBTS. Sorry… I’m missing what is different. But Stuart’s advice is definitely a good place to start. Maybe a screenshot of the profile that shows it best?

Bruce