Induction Frequency

Purely out of idle curiosity and because I’m an engineer and these sorts of things interest us -

What frequency does the Bullet induction heater operate at; what is the approximate current in the coil; and the operating impedance of the coil?

Thanks!

Gray

good question, i’d also add how is the energy applied, is it some form of constant, or is is pulsing to maintain different power settings, but big enough dips and peaks in heat to register in the flavor, or even the roast curve.

I’d reach out to tech support, though i haven’t heard from them in several days. Must be holiday?

You can see the IGBT switching frequency in the information panel that you can call up during the roast. IIRC I’ve seen values in the neighborhood of 22KHz.

Not sure about the voltage across and current through the coil though.

Thanks, John-I!

Not sure why, but I haven’t explored the info panel yet. Sounds like something I’d love to geek over!

Still curious about current and impedance.

Gray

Agreed!

I’d still love to know how much the power might pulse as well. it has to throttle in a sense, because the coils might just perpetually heat up, so how does it work for holding temp. Can it do so in a stable way, or does it have slight dips and pulses? These slight variations in heat have some effect of flavor.

Hard to tell from the IBTS, since it filters anomalies, because it has to.

I don’t imagine the power is pulsed or modulated, apart from the changes the user makes. Why would they want to do that?

I presume the coil is made large enough to handle the power needed without some sort of duty cycle coooling. At any rate, most of the power is dissipated in the drum and not the coil.